Sarah: lymphedema gone!

I had to post this, before a probably longer pause on this blog, for this story would deserve headlines in all the lymphedema publications.

In medias res, here is a question for you:

Which arm of the lady who is dancing in this video, has lymphedema?

If you are rubbing your eyes to see better, and say: “Andrea, what a silly question, her arms are perfectly fine!” – you are right.

Sarah, this lovely lady from the UK, has suffered from lymphedema after a breast cancer surgery, and her devoted husband tells us what happened with her arms, here: How Sarah reversed her lymphedema

Shortly: she did not “treat” or “manage” her lymphedema, didn’t try to keep a symptom under control, apparently did not even think too much about it, but chose to have a generally much healthier lifestyle, PLUS, she was and is doing something that gives her not only excellent physical exercise, but superb fun in the same time: dancing.

And as a result, she does not have lymphedema in her arm any more. 

Now, those who still keep saying that “lymphedema is incurable“, are very welcome to keep saying and thinking whatever they wish…

I am very grateful to Mark, the husband for posting this, because Sarah’s story shows again that yes, there IS hope!

And for that it looks like I have to take up dancing again, which was my life for many years, when I was a young girl. Only to read about Sarah’s story and watch her dancing happily on her 50th birthday, when mine is not too far away, and I haven’t been dancing for way, way too long, stirs up quite some emotions in me…

One more sign that shows me that lymphedema is CANNOT BE SIMPLY AND ONLY A PHYSICAL ISSUE, and it directs me toward solving the puzzle of what’s going on with my legs. Well, this is my personal thing; all of us has to find our own deep causes of whatever troubles we are having.

4969_89721811545_6437756_n
Andrea happy – legs happy… May or June 2009
5648523927_bb558e9501_o
On the right side – we came together 20 years or so later, for a gala performance of a famous Hungarian folk dance ensemble I used to be part of
219887_141743255896585_2706947_o
1982, the stage was my second home (on the right)

 

Later on, I was working for a while with the UK’s #1 Swing & Jive Band and had incredible fun with them – I might go back there, just to cut some rugs a little bit 🙂

March is Lymphedema Awareness Month. I wonder: how big attention will this story of how a woman has got rid of her lymphedema by doing simple things, will receive, among all the cries of “Look at us, hear us, we are sick, we are sick for the rest of our lives, we deserve this, we deserve that, give us money, the government should take care of us, because we can’t take care of our own bodies!”

Yes, again, I know this sounds harsh, and I don’t intend to hurt anybody’s feelings, – but the harsh reality is that you too, have a choice: either to consider yourself incurably ill, or you do whatever it takes to get well and be well

As for me, it’s not even a question. And I would love to feature many, many more stories like this, please let them coming!

For the best of all of us.

Please, if you think that Sarah’s story is wonderful and inspiring, and it might help others too, share this post away. Thank you!


My progress after 7 months

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

 Home     About     Work with me     Contact    Disclaimer
Leave a Reply

