No negative self-talk

Are you allowing negativity blocking your way to heal yourself?

I bumped into this picture in a lymphedema (or lipedema, not sure which one was it) group on Facebook:

No negative talk

which was shared from Curvy and Confident on Tuesday, October 20, 2015

“No negative self-talk, negative body image or excuses allowed here”

It did not seem to catch the attention of too many members of the 4000+ group, if I remember right, not even 10 people commented on it or gave it a Like.

But those who did, definitely agreed. And every now and then, one can see similar pictures and quotes being shared, inspiring and motivating, which is a great thing. One has to have a positive outlook on situations, in order to solve them or just deal with them easier.

However, there is a big conflict here: in all the medical studies, articles, educational and personal posts written and shared in books, websites, blogs, in lectures, seminars, videos, radio and podcast interviews, and so on, that are advocating standard medicine, one can only read and hear the following (if you know of exceptions about lymphedema, please show them to me):
“there is no cure for cancer/lipedema/lymphedema/diabetes/etc, (insert disease here)”,
lymphedema can’t be cured”,
“you have to live with this disease in your entire life”,
“I am disabled”,
“I am sick with this disease for life”,

“my disease is incurable”,
“I have an incurable illness”

“it is impossible to cure this illness”,
“we have to raise awareness for lymphedema/lipedema/cancer/whatsoever disease”,
“we have to show the world that we are sick”,
etcetera, etcetera.

Renegade Me considers all this as negative self talk, negative body image and excuses.

Well, aren’t they?

Think of this for a moment: if you keep saying to yourself that “I can’t cure myself”, “I will have to deal with lymphedema in my entire life”, “I am sick”, “I will always have diabetes”, “lipedema runs in the family, I can’t do anything about it” and similar, you are giving yourself a negative affirmation, continuously.

If your mind is giving the message to your body all the time that “I can’t heal”, “I will always be sick with this”, then how can you expect to ever be able to heal your condition, whatever it may be?

You can’t and you won’t.

Not even when (and if) some magical medicament will be discovered to cure your disease, because your mind and your body will know already with a great certainty that “you will be always sick with this”.

That is only on the individual level, a person about his or her own body.

But what probably even more harmful is when experts keep telling these same statements to the patients and in public – for that influences the collective mind of the society in the same way: everybody will know that this (lymphedema/lipedema/cancer/diabetes/multiple sclerosis/what not) is a disease for a lifetime.

Carved in stone, isn’t it?

Instead, it would be time to change it for positive self talk, positive body image, solutions and results.

A healthy, beautiful red apple
A healthy, beautiful red apple

There might be discovered and undiscovered options for that, various methods of self-help and empowering: hypnosis, meditation, simple positive affirmations, and such. One tool that I personally like is tapping: watch this few-minute Emotional Freedom Techniques video on healing yourself, by Brad Yates, and just try it, follow his instructions.

If you are new to tapping, watch this introduction video first:

EFT tapping is one of the tricks I am using that are bringing me great improvement for my legs and generally my health. See: Progress after one month

And this is why I have chosen the name of my blog: because instead of “Living With Lymphedema”, “Living a Lymphemeda Life”, “Being a Lymphie”, “I am a Lymphie”,”Strong Lymphie Girl”,  to rephrase the titles of some other blogs and websites out there on the subject – I want to be Free From Lymphedema

Do you?

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

 Home     About     Work with me     Store     Contact    Disclaimer
Please share, reblog, if you agree. Thank you!
Leave a Reply

