Motivation Monday: A Mile in My Shoes, by Qubilah Harden

A beautiful and moving poem by a beautiful lady who has lymphedema, but that does not restrict her from something that she loves to do: expressing herself with artistic means.

I met her in a Facebook group where she wrote:

“Good evening my lymphie ladies & gentlemen. I went out and did something I love and had a blast. I am determined to not let Lymphedema control my life. Poetry helps me to express the real me. I am able to express in artistically arranged words what I can’t say in normal conversation. I pray everyone attempts to make the next day better than the day before. This disease comes with many challenges, but I’m determined to live. Live life more abundantly.”

Now if you only look at this poem, isn’t it gorgeous?

And if you read it, it’s truly empowering.

A Mile in My Shoes. Poem by Qubilah Harden
A Mile in My Shoes. Poem by Qubilah Harden

Hear it from the author:

I asked Qubilah what was the story behind the poem. With her own words:

One of my friends, sisters in Christ, has a ministry called A Mile in My Shoes. It’s all about empowering women, creating unity. Lifting each other’s spirits as we journey together. I was inspired by her ministry and it was also coming up to breast cancer awareness month and our church does a special program to recognize the survivors and others who have family that were affected by this disease. That year I hosted the program and wanted to do what I do best.. Write a poem.

More poems from this awesome woman:

Qubilah Harden Poetry
Qubilah HardenQubilah “PinkGem” Harden: Texas born, Arkansas raised… a southern belle in every way. Poet. Seamstress. Licensed Nail Tech. To know her is to love her. Fav quote: “Pink is not just a color it’s an attitude!

At the moment she is unable to travel, due to her lymphedema, but her performances are recorded, and she is getting her book ready to be published.

Get in touch with her:
Twitter     Facebook     YouTube     LinkedIn     Pinterest     Instagram     Email: qubilahj at yahoo dot com

As an artist myself, I believe in the healing power of arts and aesthetics in general.

Very nice meeting you Qubilah, I wish you many, many triumphs, tears of joy and genuine smiles on your road!

More Motivation

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

 Home     About     Work with me     Store     Contact    Disclaimer
Leave a Reply

