A man who cured his incurable illness

When I found out last summer that the strange swelling in my right leg was due to lymphedema, the first thing I learned about it was that “lymphedema cannot be cured”, “there is no cure for lymphedema”, and “lymphedema can be treated but not cured.

Of course, this was not an acceptable option for my forever optimist self, a young woman, a stage performer, a dancer and traveler.

But this is the current view of standard medicine on this disease, therefore it must be true, right? 

Mountain bike race at Prague castle, 2015. Photo: Andrea Gerak
Mountain bike race at Prague castle, 2015

Fortunately, I have also found testimonials of people telling about how they have gotten rid of their lymphedema. One website here, another blog there, some forum comments, references for an alternative practitioner – not many, but they do exist.

However, such a story is only called in medical science as “anecdotal evidence“, and regarded as non-scientific or even pseudo-scientific, it is contrary to scientific evidence or science-based evidence, and is a logical fallacy, and therefore is not counted as an actual result or achievement (=medical science doesn’t care if your neighbor healed his incurable illness with his mom’s herb teas, that you could witness with your own eyes.)

Now you can decide to wait for Big Science to come up with solutions and one day, maybe, if that will still arrive in your life, maybe they will come up with something that would cure lymphedema, and that “something” will have to be an FDA approved drug, that’s what they are interested in – or you can decide to take a simple, practical, real life approach: find someone who has cured the same illness that you have, and follow their footsteps.

So, if there ARE patients who did cure their lymphedema, doesn’t it mean that lymphedema IS curable?

This is what would logically follow – that’s my humble guess.

Hope. October sunshine on Faringso Island, Sweden.
Hope. October sunshine on Faringso Island, Sweden.

A man who has cured his “incurable” lymphedema

In this writing, I only want to mention one young man whose story somehow made it into my mailbox, where he tells about what steps did he take to combat his lymphedema – and eventually he defeated it!

Isn’t that amazing?

Half a year later after his article, I asked him on Facebook for an update, how was it now and this is how he responded in a message:

“Yes… my lymphedema is completely gone!

I gotta credit good diet and exercise for helping to rid my body of lymphedema !!!” (Aug 31, 2015)

This was so inspiring for me and confirmed what I had believed: that yes, it IS curable. Thank you Steve! 

In the first days of August, just a bit more than one month ago, I implemented only a very few and very simple changes, and could see almost immediate results. No, I haven’t healed my legs yet, they are still swollen, but definitely much less and there are other, significant improvements as well. Stay tuned for my next post! (You can subscribe to my blog in the bottom right corner)

Now, I was told by 3 doctors so far and by many patients and I read countless of studies, articles and statements by the medical profession about lymphedema being ‘incurable” – but I tend to believe in the old cliche: “Where there is a will, there is a way.”, and the story of this man serves as a proof. 

So I am very excited to experiment on myself, and by all the good things that are already happening!

What about you?

Do you think that lymphedema cannot be cured, and if you have it, do you accept that you will have to live with it till the end of your days, because that’s what you have heard from everybody – or do you have just a tiny little spark of hope that yes, if you really wanted to, you could get rid of it, for good?

Please leave a comment and share away, thank you!

Related:

A question to the medical profession about lymphedema (and other diseases) 
Motivation Monday: Skeptics

Ps: No, I am not against Science: this unique product for almost all your skin’s needs is by breakthrough science: 

Renu 28

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

Home     About     My story     Work with me     Store     Disclaimer     Contact

28 thoughts on “A man who cured his incurable illness

    1. Thank you Storm. You are doing great, keep it up! We all are different and therefore what works for one person, might not do anything for somebody else. I also found out recently that I must have had primary lymphedema in all my life, and the consequences of my cancer surgery only added to the “fun”.
      Just keep on going and you will know what is the best for you.
      Warm greetings, Andrea

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I also value science but believe that we have to think critically and recognize the influences of capitalism at work. Statements on “incurable” disease and discounting of natural cures are based only on what is proven and accepted by the scientific communities. Lack of scientific proof is largely due to lack of support and funding where there is no financial gain (or potential financial threat).

    Up until the last few years, most of the medical community knew little enough to recognize, let alone diagnosis and treat. The few with knowledge to improve the condition were very difficult to find. I credit mostly the patient community for using the internet to learn and educate themselves and push the issue forward.

    My lymphedema advanced several years before diagnosis in 2009. I went through stages of grief–denial, anger, blame, acceptance. As a fiercely independent and resilient woman, I researched and assessed all information I could find about the disorder and diligently enforced all that I found to help it.

    While I cannot say I am cured, I can say that with diligence in following all that worked for me (physical therapy, faithful wrapping at home, religiously wearing compression garments, eating more raw foods…) I shed 0ver 60 lbs of fluids that had been trapped in my feet, legs, arms, torso and face. Once the lymph flow highway traffic improved, natural systems were at least partially restored.

    Lots of tears, determination and self-wrapping was rewarded with slow, continued progress. After a number of years of slow improvement, I found I could skip a night of wrapping, then 2, then finally altogether. It was a slow but steady progress. I have no complications or regression as long as I wear my medical grade compression garments. Lymphedema is not my only chronic health problem, but NOT TAKING ALL MEDICAL ADVICE AS GOSPEL is partly why I am thriving and working and living more fully. I do believe it will become curable for some with earlier detection and earlier treatment. There is much for the medical community to learn, and progress in this area is more advanced in countries outside of the USA.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment has me inspired, Cindy. I too have been trying to understand my lymphoedema for years with Hashimoto’s hypothyroid dx on top.
      I am not the best ‘native’ to disciplines so my progress has been slow– but some good things happen occasionally. I find that it’s putting the know-how of many hundreds of LE people together from Facebook, blogs, local associations, practices and clinics that gives me the hope to keep searching for strategies that work. I’m learning new stuff all the time about my body will benefit from. Collectively we’re stronger than apart.
      I look forward to a day that I can go ‘strategy-free’– as when I was younger. But I accept too that my body is changed by cancer, chronic auto-immune problems — and age–and continues to change for better AND worse despite all the fantastic foods and regimes I endeavour to adhere to. It’s not a paradox to have a mixed picture of both health and symptoms going on at the same time. That’s life, in fact.
      I am sympathetic to Andrea here in trying to find an absolute answer to her diagnosis. It’s a challenge to say the least, to find that your body is creating ‘terms’ for living that your mind didn’t agree to. I admire seekers, feel I am one at times. I also would not rule out that new ways of living that enhance general health–that make my body happy, whether they result in a reduction of outward symptoms, or not–are just as valid as those methods that create ‘results’.
      What I don’t admire is health promises that have commercial tentacles attached either, in the traditional allopathic medical world or in the ‘new age’ alternative health sector. ‘Miracle’ cures are interesting, headline-grabbing…but look under the cover, and it’s not always an altruistic motive that’s behind the press for it.
      I would say that Steve Filmore is following good advice from many many sources– as we all are. Juicing is a very standard method for achieving a fast transformation.
      And Andrea: I wonder if you might take down the ASEA promotions from your blog and make your LE journey and insights completely free from commercial endorsements and gain? Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much Prana for your sharing your thoughts! I am sure that with your attitude, you are able to reach the point when your body will feel happy the way you want it.

        As for your question about commercial endorsements: of course, I can take all those ads and referrer links down! I will do that at the very moment when doctors and therapists will not charge me for the visits and treatments, and when I can get everything what I need to be healthy, for free: good food and drinks, supplements, compression garments, skin care products, a decent place where I can sleep well, shoes and clothes that I can put on my lymphedema legs, I can go to the swimming pool for free or get tools and devices for exercising… Plus, when somebody will pay me for all the work that it takes to keep this blog. Promise. 🙂
        My Disclaimer should make it clear, which is there at the bottom of each post: https://lymphedemafree.wordpress.com/disclaimer

        Do you see it differently now?

        Like

    2. Thank you so much Cindy for sharing your story! It is indeed inspiring and I hope that anyone who is reading it, will gain strength for improving their condition.

      And I agree with what you say about the medical community and the current state of research.

      Now I browsed your Facebook profile a little bit, read a few of your Notes – Cindy, you are one wise woman!

      Ladies and gentlemen, please follow her and listen to what she has to say.

      Like

  2. Holy shit is this really possible? I knew knew there had to be some kind of cure. If we can cure all of these other things then why not this.

    Seeing this right now just gave tremendous tremendous hope to me.

    I have often had hope with this but recently, the other night, i had a very low point. I truly leapt inside when i read the article and i thank you greatly and so very much for putting it up for everyone to know. 🙂

    Thank you again and i am glad i could make you feel so happy and relieved. Could you send me the other success stories you have found?

    i have Lymphedema in my lower legs and i always have believed there had to be a cure. I have had my low points with this and have had one recently. Seeing this now confirmed what i have thought all along.

    I knew it had to be true. I just knew it

    Like

    1. This is only the story of one person, and I have found more.
      Seeing your reactions Andy right now just almost gave me tears: I was up the whole night writing and now, knowing that at least one person got hope, I can go to sleep… thank you

      Like

  3. It depends on how bad you have LE. I know in my case having the most Extreme case of LE . Since mine was since birth my leg was 525 pounds I opted to have it Amputated at the hip. I tried every option under the sun with No results. Thats why I love helping answer questions about this horrible disease. Much Love—Vinnie

    Like

    1. Vinnie–that’s a harrowing tale and I hope you are doing much better now. More mobile and more able to enjoy life symptom-free now. You must feel like two different people: before and after. Brave man.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I wouldn’t say mine is cured but no one other than me can tell anymore (left leg is maybe 1/4 inch larger than right). MLD treatments, compression garments, strict dietary intake (not caloric but types of foods – i.e no gluten, no night shades, no dairy, no processed foods) and reducing the amount of ammonia in the body (I use yucca supplements but there are other things)I take diosmin and magnanese too. The biggest change was when I started taking the yucca, diosmin and magnanese 2 months ago. My MLD therapist has been measuring my progress and this past week (I only go 1x/week said there was no fluid to move).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Of course…spend more money on things (I.e. Healthier foods) we can’t really afford because our healthcare costs are already high. That seams feasible….

    Like

    1. It’s up to you Melanie what you spend your money on: healthcare that has NOT cured anyone from lymphedema yet, otherwise we would know about it – or healthier food and such that HAS.

      I can’t afford healthcare expenses, for I don’t have any insurance – but the most expensive item I have been using in the past 5 weeks or so and have great results with, cost me about $4 and I will be able to use it for maybe 6 months, I guess… And some of the others are for free… If that is not feasible for you, of course you shouldn’t try it.

      Like

  6. Once you start a healthy lifestyle the “healthy foods” ARE your “normal foods” there is no going back once you see and feel alllllll the benefits to “cutting the crap” lol (I speak from experience on this one)

    Like

  7. Lymphoedema is a wide spectrum of conditions and symptoms that have one thing in common: a malfunction in the physical channels to conduct lymph return.
    It can happen for a host of reasons (at least 6 I can think of right now) and so has a host of solutions. From dietary changes to amputation…we can see that it really does depend on the circumstances and development of the condition and the person who has it. In some it will act more like disease, in others, it’s a temporary blip on the road to somewhere else. Once you have it, you are always someone at risk for it to continue or re-appear in varying degrees. I know women who have successfully kept it ‘at bay’ for years. But they reasonably don’t assume it’s done with them, and they are done with it. It’s not a safe bet to allow yourself that luxury of thinking. Even folks who have had the restorative surgery are at risk, despite great outcomes.

    I am all for sharing and comparing, I just worry that the drama embedded in the words: ‘cure’, ‘incurable’, ‘miracle’ mean a lot of baggage to deal with on top of a very mercurial condition. It makes for a passionate blog, but it actually doesn’t practically help.

    What’s frustrating for those with a more entrenched, difficult case of LE is that good efforts others have applied have not always bourn fruit. But everything has to be tried once for at least 6-8 weeks. Trying several things together is necessary, because we don’t have a million years to try out things one-at-a-time. Also, over time….one thing that did not work previously, starts to. That’s exercise for me. To start with, 6 years ago, exercise was a guarantee that I would make things worse. Now that’s the reverse. So go figure.

    There is not one answer for LE. It’s a trickster and you have to learn to dance with it. Similar principles apply to all. Anecdotes are not to be mistaken as ‘proof’. Everyone can benefit from giving hope to others. That’s a fabulous aim. I don’t wish to downplay that value. I only think it’s so important to talk absolutely straight about LE and not discount that it is incredibly lucky–as well as talented– if you can get it under control.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much Prana for your thoughts!

      I agree with you that there is not ONE cure to lymphedema, as we are all individuals.

      That’s why I think that the medical profession will fail to find The Cure for lymphedema.

      A question: how can you say that “It makes for a passionate blog, but it actually doesn’t practically help.”?

      Have you TRIED anything that I am recommending here as tips that are helping me greatly, or anything that Setve Fillmore who DOESN’T HAVE lymphedema any more, recommends?

      Like

      1. Andrea, I want to thank you again for your passion and creativity in ‘thinking outside the box’ of LE. You seem to be an artist of many talents and that kind of force is outstanding in a blog, forum and journalistic format.

        Your English is excellent. There is a difference in definitions I’m picking up in your responses with other speakers however. It’s your blog and you are in control. That is as it should be. Outside the blog, people have different understandings of the words: ‘cure’, ‘treatment’, ‘lifestyle’, ‘management’, ‘insurance’ and ‘medical’. I don’t think you want to share some of these definitions, though I could be wrong. That of course is your choice. Do you want to listen to all the different messages that come your way on ‘curing the incurable’? No, I think you want to filter down to only the ones that will assist your one focus.

        ‘Management’ of LE is quite doable and means many things. It’s different to LE being done and gone, however. Many LE people manage their condition to varying degrees of success when compared to ‘normal’ people. Diabetes is like this, and so are many other chronic conditions like rheumatoid arthritis. Sometimes people say they’ve ‘cured’ themselves of conditions via various techniques, prayers, diets, medical procedures. I believe LE is like these conditions and in some ways NOT like them. I still am trying to understand it myself. Black/white doesn’t exist in my world. As I’ve written before you can be healthy with symptoms. You can be sick without any signs at all.

        Getting off the perfection paradigm is what’s important to me. I am doing my best to be happy with LE and without it. I am trying to not let LE determine my every move. Even so, I know that all I do day-in-day-out is to try and keep my body free of it. Paradoxical, frustrating, and a very good teacher. What I tried to explain above is how you can try one thing one day and it doesn’t have an effect. Two years later it will, surprisingly. Conversely something new I do today will really work, and it won’t next month.

        I’m not going to continue visiting your blog; I don’t feel we share the same sympathies of keeping all options open and listening to all responses, both positive and negative– but I really wish you well in finding your answers, and mojo again. Seems like you’re on the right track. x

        Like

  8. Than you Prana.

    I am not 100% sure that I could follow everything you said – so am I on the right track or not? I can’t tell from your responses.

    And if I am wrong about the way I am using certain definitions, I will be very happy if someone can correct me. However, simply saying that I am not using them in the right way, doesn’t help.

    About “thinking outside the LE box”, all I can see is that “thinking inside” has not brought real solutions yet. And will not, unless medical science takes on a holistic approach.

    I am getting way more responses than what is visible here on this blog, and many of them are absolutely not in line with what I think about the whole subject. But I carefully read each and every of them, those that support my views, and those that don’t. There are even some quite harsh comments, but when I am responding to those and ask those persons what EXACTLY they mean by that, or what else would they recommend instead that could WORK, or how could I do better – guess what: they go in silence.

    So if “listening to other opinions” means in your dictionary that I should change my views according to what others say and give up my belief that one day I will be able to be free from lymphedema – then you are right, I am not willing to “listen”.

    Thank you for following my blog so far, be well!

    Andrea

    Like

Leave a Reply

