Aquatic exercise for lymphedema (includes videos)

Very useful post by Helen about why is exercising in the water good for lymphedema.

Personally, my only reservation is the chlorinated water in swimming pools. Despite of being a mermaid as I am, a former competitive swimmer, I am mostly avoiding pools.

However, I could spend hours in natural waters: lakes, rivers, or the best is, of course, the sea! The salt is very beneficial for the body, I love the look and feel of my skin and hair after a nice dip in the sea. I can only imagine how fantastic it might feel for my legs.

Probably it is indeed time to reconsider my travel plans and be much more on the beaches of the world 🙂

I am curious: how is the swimming pool water for you? Do you experience any adverse effects from the chlorine in the water? Or do you have some tips for protecting your skin and hair from it? I heard that smearing yourself with coconut oil or olive oil does the trick but haven’t tried yet, have you?

My Lymph Node Transplant

In my previous post I wrote about returning to the pool and how helpful I have always found this to be. This resulted in a number of questions which I feel are answered in this article from Aqua Lymphatic Therapy. Ifwe can find a group like this or similar it would be great, but I am not going to hold my breath for that!!! I am sure however with this guidance you can put some exercises together yourself.. Tread water, walk in water and use a buoyancy belt or noodle to help…. Join a water aerobics class…. Enjoy

image Google images

Water – is it good for lymphedema?
Aqua Lymphatic Therapy
By Dorit Tidhar
Article reprinted from the Spring/Summer 2011 issue of Lymphedema Matters, a publication of the Lymphedema Association of Ontario.

Mrs. G’s birthday is coming up and her husband decided to surprise her with a gift, a day…

View original post 1,646 more words

4 thoughts on “Aquatic exercise for lymphedema (includes videos)

  1. Not all pools yse chlorine… There are salt water pools and ozone pools … I was going to an ozone hydrotherapy pool and it was wonderfu… My skin did not get dry or that awful chlorine smell!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

